State & Local Elected Officials | Maryland Democratic Party

State & Local Elected Officials

Senate President Thomas V. "Mike" Miller

Under the leadership of Senate President Miller, Democrats hold 33 of 47 seats in the Maryland State Senate. Senator Miller is the longest serving Senate President in the history of Maryland and is currently the longest serving State Senate President in the nation. Among his duties in the State House, Senator Miller serves as Co-chair of the Legislative Policy Committee, Chair of the Investigation Committee, and is a member of the Rules Committee.


Comptroller Peter Franchot

Comptroller Peter Franchot was elected to serve as Maryland's 33rd State Comptroller on November 7, 2006. Prior to his election to statewide office, Peter served as a Delegate from Montgomery County for 20 years. During his time in the House of Delegates, he was a member of the Appropriations Committee, and served as the Chair of its Transportation & the Environment Subcommittee.


Sign up for email updates